Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
General Question - 09 Sportsman Touring

I'll soon be inheriting an 2009 Sportsman 500 EFI-HO 2-seater Touring, in a maroon-red color. Already equipped with the factory steel rack extensions front and rear, and a front brush guard (PN 2876102). Has a dealer installed warn winch. It's always been serviced at the dealership, and it's only been used a few times per year...but when it has been used, it's been for long day trips. Maybe 3000-3500 miles on it total. It will need tires soon.

I'm not new to 4x4s, but haven't owned an ATV in 15+ years. I am totally new to the Polaris brand however. I've already got a well setup Jeep for 4-wheeling/expedition stuff, so for now this ATV will only be used during hunting season. It will see a variety of rocks, rough terrain, dense timber, etc at high elevation...basically stuff my Jeep can't access. If it matters, I'm fully capable of doing my own maintenance and fabricating/DIY stuff.

Now, to the questions:
  1. What are common issues/failures with this model?
  2. Would like to add a matching rear brush guard. I like PN 2878670 (11+), and hate PN 2878046. Any suggestions that fit the 08, but look like the 11+?
  3. I'd like to make it more quiet. Muffler/resonator suggestions?
  4. Skid plates - suggestions for good aluminum full coverage skids?
  5. I read these can't ford water past the steps. Something with the clutch/trans? Any mods to ford deeper water?
  6. Fluids/maintenance - what types fluids are recommended for coolant, oil, trans, diffs, etc? Is there a Factory Service Manual & Maintenance Schedule available online?
  7. Accessory websites: Already found superatv.com, atvoutfitters.net, rockymountainatvmc.com. Will need a hard rifle case, hand guards, and some other odds and ends. Any other sites I should be looking at?

Thanks in advance for the help.

Edit: oops, its a 2009, not 08.

·
Registered
7,469 Posts