Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks, I am new to the forum. First post.

I bought a used 2005 Sportsman 800 EFI. I had 2 torn CV boots to change. Outer right rear already done, now I am working on the outer front left. When I took the wheel off, and the center nut with cotter pin, holding the hub on, I found the center of the hub broken. The part that goes in through the lower strut housing, its cast and part of the hub, shaped like a bushing. It was broke right off but still sitting inside the strut housing where it is supposed to be, just no longer part of the hub.

My question is how the heck does a guy break this? Maybe previous owner hammered a rock or pot hole real hard and sent a major shock through the hub?
I am new to the Sportsman series, is hub known to break like this? Thanks,

·
Registered
2,402 Posts
It definately is not normal to break the hub. The bearing inside the hub can get worn out and lose, but i have never seen the strut actually break if that is what you are talking about. I have broken axles and bent tie rods in half and never had an issue with the strut and/or bearings.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The strut is fine, the bearings are fine. It's the cast part of the hub that goes into the strut base and turns with the bearings.

·
Registered
2,402 Posts
Ok, without seeing a photo, it might just be the outer part of the bearing assembly. It could be that the bearings have been bad so long that it has destroyed the carrier that is seperate from the strut? Maybe try to post a photo.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks! I will contribute...Here is a photo of the broken hub.
This is the back side you see.
The bearings seemed fine and roll nicely.

·
Registered
2,885 Posts