Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have about 260 joyous miles on my new 570. Everything is running great. Awesome machine! But I want to make sure everything is cool and not causing hidden damage. This is my first ATV. I am not a mechanic, but willing to buy tools.

I do not like my original dealer. The dealership is also a long drive away. I asked a local place and they wanted hundreds of dollars.

So do you think I could do this on my own? Is there really anything that needs to be done over changing oil? I have looked at the maintenance book that came with the machine. But I feel like there are missing pieces that get checked over during the first tuneup.

I also erroneously assumed that this first tuneup was included with the purchase.

SwampDonkey, I see you live a few minutes down the road. Can you recommend a place to service my ATV? I would like to establish a long term relationship (eww) with my mechanic and keep going back for things (for example I want a winch).

·
Registered
668 Posts
You should do as much of your own work as you can. Or find a friend that will show you how. Oil and filter is easy. Order factory stuff over the internet from a good dealer like Sander Sporting in OK. Get a grease gun and spare canisters of grease. Check the a-arm bolts, sometimes they loosen. Very easy to do. Can't hurt to have a spare plug and air filters on hand as well. Save your receipts and record when you did the maintenence. The money you spend on your own tools will be far less than service bills. There is a video on youtube for almost every repair or maintenence. You will be suprised how easy a winch is if you have basic hand tools. Take your time and you will know it was done right. No one is going to care how your machine comes out as much as you. I found over the years that "repair shops" did a lousy job fixing something on my cars or atvs. Hardly ever go to a repair shop for anything anymore.