Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It seems like whenever I am in water deeper than my floor boards my quad has a tendency to water wheelie. I don't really like this as I am trying to steer and avoid submerged tree stumps and various other obstacles. I have tried moving my weight forward but the rear begins to raise and I end up getting stuck. Also I have tried slowing down my wheel speed but also end up getting stuck. I have stock 486s all the way around with about 30 miles on them.

I am looking to upgrade my front tires but want to avoid the water wheelies. Will a taller tire help keep the front end down?

Thanks,
Chas

·
Registered
1,465 Posts
I'm no expert on deep water wheelies, but my guess would be that a taller/larger tire would have more air and or volume to it which would intern have a greater buoyancy. No idea tho just a guess.

·
Registered
2,054 Posts
I'm no AWD expert but I think putting larger diameter tire on the front will adversely affect it

Sent from my MB886 using Tapatalk 2

·
Registered
94 Posts
It's an easy fix... just put a seat on the front and tell the old lady it's "so you can see better" :D :D

·
Registered
3,096 Posts
^ :rotflmao:

·
Registered
619 Posts
This is just a guess, but would having too much air in the tires cause them to be more buoyant?

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
I like the idea of the old lady up front! haha My thought with the larger tires is that they weigh so much more it would counter act the buoyancy. Maybe I'll some of that new tire ballast they are putting in tractor tires.

·
Registered
3,230 Posts
Its the opposite... It will lift more with bigger tires. More air volume= more buoyancy.

If you don't want the front comig up, lay off the right thimb a bit.

·
Registered
7,464 Posts