Polaris ATV Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Newbe here how do you check bearings and ball joints

so i am new to Polaris so got to ask i have a 2013 400HO and was wondering how do you check wheel bearings and ball joints for wear or play ...

·
Registered
5,753 Posts
Other than visually for obvious damage, lift the machine off the ground and try to move the wheels and feel for play. From the outside push against the top and pull against the bottom and vice versa to try to rock it in and out that way. And also grab the front and back of the tires and try to rock that way too. Hope that make sense. Bearings are sometimes harder to feel and have to be removed to spin by hand. Also spin the wheels and listen for any noise or grinding of the bearings.

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
great thanks for the input should be any play

·
13,423 Posts
If you detect some play you'll want to then look closely at the bushings while wiggling the wheel to determine whether the play is actually in the bearing or the bushings. It can sometimes be hard to tell where it is unless you watch really close.

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
ya just finished cleaning her up and checked all 4 wheels the left rear wheel has a little play up and down but not side to side does not seam to be the bushings only a little where the hub meats the back of the wheel..

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·