Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey im trying to remove my primary clutch but do not have a clutch puller ! Is there anyway i can remove the primary clutch without the puller? 2005 Sportsman 500H.O.

Thanks, Jake

·
Registered
4,081 Posts
You need a long 8" piece of 3/4" fine tread and a 5/8 deep socket.

Remove bolt from primary, insert deep socket and thread in 3/4" bolt. Until it contacts socket. Apply force and the primary will pop free.

CW

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Thanks alot for the quick reply! So you insert the socket first which way should you put it in the circle side in or out ? Also then what just turn the bolt with a thumb wrench? Sorry for the questions but its my first time doing a clutch and i want to make sure i get it right. Also how do you out the clutch back on will it just pop back on ?

·
Registered
5,753 Posts
I don't like the idea of shoving a piece of metal in there to press against the crank end that isn't designed to fit in the threaded hole that the retaining bolt goes in without damaging the threads. If you don't want to buy the proper puller then either tow it to the dealer or a qualified shop and have them pop it off for you or I have used the hydraulic method of tipping the machine on the side and filling the hole with water, Teflon tape your bolt threads and thread it into the clutch. It will pop right off, the water runs away and no cleanup. Very easy and costs about $2.

·
Registered
4,081 Posts
I use a store bought puller... Mine is a two piece DESIGNED for the XP... I bought it cause my pop has a XP... Guess what? It have a small cylindrical piece of metal JUST LIKE A SOCKET, that needs to be inserted before the threaded portion... As a matter of fact a socket is better polished and IMHO has a far LESS chance of damaging anything...

Metal on metal is NOT going to hurt anything... your NOT BEATING IT!!!