Polaris ATV Forum banner

How/Where to attach License Plate??

44K views 25 replies 20 participants last post by  TDMax 
#1 ·
Hey all!! I am new here and this is my first post. I am new to owning an ATV as well. I have spent most of my adult life building parts for these things at the machine shop I work at and finally this past winter I was able to talk my wife into buying one! I'm sure I will have a ton of questions but My first one is,
How do you recomend attaching the license plate to your wheeler? I have been looking at it now for a few weeks and the only way I can see is by drilling holes in the plastic or the back rack and either way I think it will look bad. Any suggestions? Here are a couple pics of my new wheeler. Pretty plane jane for now. It is a 2013 Sportsman 500 HO.

See less See more
#2 ·
zip tied mine. welcome to the forum!

Attachments

#3 ·
Welcome aboard! Nice looking machine. Where you from? Looks like you have a bit of snow there.
I did the same as Jordaman.....ziptied it to the back. 4 ties, and it's been there for several years now and I haven't had to replace one yet.

#4 ·
Same here.... had it zip tied to the back of fram above rear diff/tranny. Than added the bumper and zip tied it to the lower bar on that. Shouldn't go anywhere!!

#7 ·
I have an '08 800 H.O. If you look up underneath the rear storage box there is a round bar that runs left to right between the frame. I used conduit fasteners from lowes to run around that bar and mounted my plate to the fastener. I don't have a pic of it but theses are the fasteners. I don't believe it will work with an XP due to where the exhaust sits.

Attachments

#8 ·