Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently bought a 2003 Sportsman 500 (knowing that it didn't run)
I bought it from a trusted friend who had not had the the time to troubleshoot it
So far I have replaced the speedo, adjusted the valves, checked the cam chain, confirmed that I have spark, replaced the plug, ensured that the carb is clean and working correctly and checked all the wiring. It will turn over but will not crank with the electric start or manual start. I've rebuilt V-Twins in the past but I have little experience with this engine. I am going to attempt a leak down test tomorrow. (I know it's supposed to be done at running temp but that isn't possible right now) Soooo... I have a few questions.

First... If the CDI/ECU is bad would I still have spark?
Second... Anyone have any data on leak down on a cold engine? Something to compare my results with.
Third... Any further advice or suggestions?

I would greatly appreciate any help. Thanks in advance

·
Premium Member
20,001 Posts
Welcome to the board!:med:

·
11,130 Posts
Have you got the carb bowl full yet. It sometimes takes a bit for the diaphragm style pump to fill the bowl. It won't gravity feed any unless the tank is completely full. I don't use it much, but a couple little shots of starting fluid will usually do the trick.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
It's getting fuel to the cylinder. I've tried giving it a shot or two of starting fluid without success. The leak down was at 28% cold (impressive). I has backfired a time or two but that's the best I've gotten out of her.

·
Registered
424 Posts