Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
249 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
2qt Mobil1 Full Synthetic 0/40 and a Purolator filter.
So I'll see this weekend if it works and how well in my 2012 850 Touring.

·
Registered
2 Posts
How can you tell if it works? If it blows up or not? I have been running it for a couple years in my 550 and it does just fine.

·
Registered
249 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Cool. The Purolator filter comes down a little further than others.
I run pretty hard and haft to change it around every 70 hours.

·
Registered
1,519 Posts
Wise choice Grasshopper!

·
Registered
2,885 Posts
You should not have any problems at all. My paper mill used Mobil oil and greases in everything there. That place ran 24/7, unless a line was plugged or a seal went out oil related failures did not occur.

·
Registered
450 Posts
I've been running Mobil1 0w40 and a Purolator filter, I forget the part number, but it had the same number of holes and they were the same size as the Polaris filter. Got it at Walmart.

I trust Mobil1. More engines use Mobil1 than Polaris oil worldwide... And it's about $20 cheaper per oil change for me to use Mobil1 and Purolator vs. the oil change kit from the dealer. Gotta love Alaska markups!

·
Registered
7,464 Posts
Oh no.... you've switched over to the dark side. Now all of the Polaris oil "believers" will dis-own you!! :rofl: But I hope it "works" for you..... and doesn't blow up! :D

I also run Mobil1 0W40 and Purolator # _14610 (3.5" Long) filters on both our Sportmans..... not to mention Mobil1 & Purolator in/on both the daily drivers.