Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Not new to riding or owning, but I am new to Polaris and to Alaska. I want to go big but don't now where to start. I know I want bigger wheels and tires but I don't want excessive load to my 2006 Sportsman EFI.

Inquiring as to what you all recommend to modifiy for marsh mud and deep water.

·
Registered
114 Posts
u have 26s stock, u can easily go 27 without problems to the bike. honestly i would go as big as u can fit/afford.

mine has 25s stock i have 27s and wider than stock with 0 problems and i haven't found anything that can get me stuck yet

·
Registered
2,075 Posts
Bigger tires. But avoid the lift kit stuff. Puts too much strain on the axles, unless you can afford a full set of Gorilla Axles.
Spacers can help too. The wider stance will keep you out of other people's ruts.
Use dielectric grease on all electrical connections if you plan on going deep.
Depending on how deep you are going consider snorkels and radiators relocation.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
u have 26s stock, u can easily go 27 without problems to the bike. honestly i would go as big as u can fit/afford.

mine has 25s stock i have 27s and wider than stock with 0 problems and i haven't found anything that can get me stuck yet

I have 12" wheels but everyone is recommending 14" with 27" tires. Is the investment for new wheels worth it? or should I keep the 12"s and splurge on pricy tires?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Bigger tires. But avoid the lift kit stuff. Puts too much strain on the axles, unless you can afford a full set of Gorilla Axles.
Spacers can help too. The wider stance will keep you out of other people's ruts.
Use dielectric grease on all electrical connections if you plan on going deep.
Depending on how deep you are going consider snorkels and radiators relocation.