Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2004 Sportsman 700. I lost all brake pressure on my last ride, and now have put new pads on and flushed the fluid. My problem is that when trying to bleed the system, I started at the rear, then right front, then left front, and all will push fluid out when squeezing the hand brake or foot brake. I never got any pressure to build up, and have now realized that fluid is pumping between the 2 reservoirs. If I pump the hand brake, the auxiliary reservoir fills up and leaks from the cap, and vice versa with pumping the foot brake, the handlebar master cylinder fills up to the point it will leak out of the cap. The pressure never builds, the hand brake WILL apply pressure to the pads, but it goes to the handlebar with little resistance.

Here is my question: I'm fairly certain I have a bad master cylinder, but which one? Or could it be both? Its comical how much fluid I have gone through. I do have a mighty vac, and when I pump it, pressure holds, and fluid does come through. I dont know if I'm missing something, or what is going on, but I have been bleeding these brakes off and on ALL DAY. Any help is greatly appreciated, I am fairly mechanically inclined, so if I need to take the MC apart, I'm comfortable with that. I just want to try to avoid buying 2 new master cylinders if I only need one. Or maybe I dont need any, I'm just not bleeding correctly. I'm at a loss! Thank you

·
Premium Member
8,198 Posts
I'm inclined to say that the rear caliper is bad. That's the only point where the two systems are connected. Other then that it would seem both mater's are bad and not preventing back flow via a check valve.

·
9,860 Posts