Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just picked up a project, bad rod bearing and missing some parts, front diff needs rebuild. I am a novice mechanic and have played with a few older atvs, but by know means and expert.

This bike came in pieces and what was included was a FTP? or something like that muffler still on it has all these screws sticking out - I think it is a high proformace muffler/Tunable? Also had a box of DynoJet carb jets and stuff.
I know you may think I am nuts but I am 50yrs old and need to be putzing on stuff. LOL
Can someone tell me about this muffler and jetting stuff- I would rather find a stock muffler and but back if I could trade someone.
I had read in the past about people getting more from there stuff with aftermarket parts - but not sure on this.

The last atv I owned for my son was an 87 honda 200sx - so this is a much more up to date unit - alot of electronics too.

Thanks for any advice...

·
Registered
422 Posts
Sounds like a Supertrapp muffler with the tunable discs?

·
Registered
11 Posts
I have a stock exhaust off of a 2003 sportsman 700. I have the y pipe, headpipe and muffler I would be interested in swapping you. I just pulled it and put on an 800 header and polaris slip on. It is in good shape, the machine has only 70 hours on it.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Also I just got done jetting mine and it is very simple to do. I got a pretty decent gain with my setup but it will require some test and tune work on your part. I myself am getting to the point where I don't like loud anymore. The pure polaris I have on there is at the borderline of what I consider loud. I think my biggest gain was the 800 exhaust, the uni air filter and the 800 snorkel not so much the slip on muffler itself.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Are you saying that the stock exhaust if very loud.

I am in Michigan.

I can get pictures of what is on there and post, I will do that wed. evening.