Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Problem: 2002 Sportmans 600 - 4 wheel drive does not work. Front end binds up and makes a grinding noise. Research I’ve done indicates a problem with a cage inside of the differential.

Quad build date is 02/02. Apparently there was a change in 05/02 based on finding parts

Background: This is not my quad. It’s a buddies and we trade work. He’s a painter and I’m a mechanic from way back so naturally he paints for me and I fix his broken stuff.

I’ve used this site numerous times to help figure out problems with this quad. This one I can’t seem to find the answer to. Here is what I’m at.

The differential side of the front shaft has u-joints. The wheel end has a CV. I CAN NOT GET THE U-JOINT END TO POP OUT OF THE DIFFERENTIAL! :motz: I’m pulling on the thing so hard that the differential is moving in the frame. I sprayed some PB blaster on it last night and will try again but I’m not expecting great results. Secondly the roll pin on the yoke side will not budge. Whoever though that up needs to be stabbed with a broken screwdriver……… Here we are 3 nights into this thing and I’m not any farther so my frustration level is getting maxed out.

Now once I’m finally able to get this thing apart what are my options? He wants to put in stronger axles shafts but I can’t seem to find any for the build date prior to 05/02. And are there any aftermarket options to install inside of the differential because I never want to do this again?!

Any, I mean any input will be appreciated.

·
Premium Member
20,001 Posts
Welcome to the board!:med:

·
Registered
7,464 Posts
The only way I've ever heard of them coming apart.... is by getting aggressive. The spines rust and get tight. Spray Lube, Pry & Tap... repeat until out. Than the other side is easier to punch out. While it's apart I'd relube the CV's too.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4