Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got my first ATV so I'm a newbie! I used to run Jeeps but with gas prices an ATV makes more sense.

I bought a 2000 Polaris Sportsman 500. It ran fine when I took it for a spin around the guy’s driveway. When I got it home I greased it all up good and took it for a light duty drive. After about 5 minutes coolant started over flowing from the coolant overflow bottle. It continued for a minute or two after I shut off the machine. I couldn’t tell if it was boiling or bubbles. The coolant is not overfilled. I touched the side of the motor and it was hot but not burn my fingers hot. The temp light did not come one. It's not the fan because it is wired to run all the time. I put my hand in front of the rad with the fan on and I felt a breeze but I think there should be more. It is probably enough to keep it cool though. I opened the rad cap when it was cool and fired up the motor. I can see that the coolant is flowing so it’s not the water pump. As I watched I did notice there are bubbles – with some really large bubbles. This makes me think either it’s airlocked or it’s a headgasket. It looks like the motor was recently out - it’s shiny and the rest of the bike is muddy. What do y’all think?

·
Premium Member
20,001 Posts
Welcome to the board!:cowboy:

·
Registered
503 Posts