Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm fairly new to riding. I bought my 6 year old a chinese 110 that looks a lot like polaris plastic and stickers but has honda clone motor. He has a blast with it. The little chinese wheeler i was riding became too small for me pretty quick....then of course I broke it good......
I found a great deal on the outlaw I wanted. Cant wait to hit the trails and track! Rippin in the snow for now.
This machine had the choke routed improperly when i got it. It would start up and would idle high. Since i've re-routed the cable properly the bike is very hard to start. I have to give it gas. This is only when cold/overnight. After it started and warmed up and the choke is off it idles and runs fine. the re-starts the rest of the day are no problem......Just hard to start when cold. Should i try lower octane gas? Is giving it gas to start a problem? I would like to be able to set the choke start right up.....shouldnt have to give it gas...should I?

Check out the video....from labor day!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pVzBfhFSKjo

·
Premium Member
20,001 Posts
First off, welcome to the board!

·
Registered
6,903 Posts
sounds like a carbed machine. it is just the nature of the beast that carbed machines are hard to start when cold. cold air is denser, has more air molecues in it, so it trying to start while really lean. giving it gas to get started is perfectly fine, actually that what i was going to recommend you do. when you give it some gas while trying to start, it allows extra fuel to get mixed with the air in the carb, thus riching up the fuel mixture until it can fire up. a different octane gas isnt going to help, its having a hard time starting because of the air, not the gas.