Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm not new to ATV's, but am completely new to Polaris, so please bare with me. I just bought a new 2019 Sportsman 850 SP. I see XP mentioned all of the time while looking for mods to buy. What is an XP? Is that limited to the 1000? Is my 850 SP an XP as well? As for the SP, are the only differences between the base model the fender flares, ESP, ASC, wheels and color?

On to the Active Descent Control-Can I keep it in this mode all of the time or should I only use it in low? The manual doesn't really get into the specifics other than saying activate ASC before ascending or descending a hill. I'm new to CVT, so I want to make sure I'm not going to hurt it and want to break it in right.

I find myself forgetting to put it in P. I'm sure that can't be good, but would it be catastrophic if I leave it in H overnight or something? (I haven't yet).

I'm sure I'll have more questions......

Thanks in advance.

Dave

·
Premium Member
3,609 Posts
Your SP is not an XP, that indicates the touring model as far as I can tell. It doesn't matter at all if you leave it in gear all t he time. It will start in gear as long as the brake is applied. As far as the ADC I am not an expert. I only use it on the trails when dealing with a really steep descent. Otherwise I usually leave it off. I might have the AWD on if it's muddy or otherwise slick but generally i am in 2WD high for the trails.

Just for the information, the CVT is nothing more that a belt drive just like snowmobiles have used since the 60s. The engine and transmission are not connected at all other than by the belt drive. You can't hurt it by not putting it in park.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)