Polaris ATV Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2006 Polaris Sportsman 500
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I purchased a 2006 Sportsman 500 EFI from a guy today. I got a good deal if I can get it to run right. When I contacted the guy he told me it didn't run right, it stumbled. He even made a video but his video didn't actually show it stumbling.

He told me the previous plug was white, he putzes with it and it runs good, then it doesn't. It starts, it idles, and it runs at high speed, but between it doesn't even want to keep going without fiddling. He brought it over for me to look at it. I drove it a couple of blocks, and it was a struggle the whole time to keep it running. Only when the throttle was opened up did it "clear up" and zoom away.

My instinct says it is running lean. I know to check the fuel flow to confirm it has good gas flow. I am new to EFI, so other than knowing it has fuel being supplied, I don't have the process to proceed. Is there a stickit for the problem-solving steps, and better yet, specific to the horrible stumbling I am getting?

I will be so appreciative of any help that will get me in the right direction and I will go from there.
Thanks,
Lew

ps: it is purple??? Supposedly the green camo turns purple?

·
Premium Member
2008 800 ho efi, 2019 850 SP premium
9,196 Posts
Font Line Window Pattern Automotive exterior
to the forum
Ball Automotive lighting Vehicle registration plate Font Gas

·
Premium Member
9,196 Posts
You need to get a fuel pressure tester and check the fuel pressure in the fuel rail. You can borrow them at any auto parts store for a security deposit. Sounds like the fuel pump is going out. Its mounted in the fuel tank.

Reactions: StepNWolf

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·