Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys I am New to the Polaris Scene. I have been atving for over 30 years but always had hondas and kawasakis until now. I recently bought a 2015 570 sportsman and man what a difference. My first bike with rear independent suspension. Anyway I bought an oil change kit on Amazon that was supposed to be for my bike but when I opened it up and went to change the filter I noticed the new one was a little longer and a different part number. I put it on thinking it was just an updated part but turns out it is not. The original part number was 2521424 and the filter in the kit was 2540086. I believe it will work but just want to make sure before I take it out for a ride. Went on, no leaks yet, but just looking for confirmation. Anyone know f this will cause issues? From what I saw online most people prefer the shorter filter because of damage from objects hitting it, but it looks pretty secure there. Thanks everyone and let me know what you think. Ken

·
Registered
260 Posts
It’s a 10 micron vs 12 and an inch or so longer. It will work, but it may be more prone to damage being that it is longer.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks, that is what I was thinking. I think I might just leave it for now and just do next oil change sooner rather than later. Bike only has 400 miles on it, but the guy I bought it from was in his 70s and I am sure this was the first oil change it ever had.

·
Registered
7,992 Posts
2521424 and 3089996 were both superseded to 2520799 - both are made with 12 micron media - if you order 2521424 you will get 2520799.

2540086 is made with 10 micron media

The manufacturer (Polaris) determined the engine should be equipped with a 12 micron filter - I suggest you use a filter constructed with the recommended media paper.