Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This may be stupid ,I done a oil change on my 2002 sportsman and also changed the filter ,after I put the filter on ,I got it as tight as possible ,I watched for leaks for severel days and nothing appeared to be leaking ,but after taking the bike for a ride the other day I noticed a spot on my garage floor .I checked the bike and sure enough the leak appears to be coming from the oil filter ,I don't believe I can get the fileter on any tighter and its the correct filter for this bike. I just want to know if I should take it off and replace it once again or re install it and see what happens.

I'm new to doing maintenance on my bike ,so I'm sure I may have done something wrong . Any advice would be appreciated.

·
Registered
38 Posts
You likely over tightened it. They don't need to be tight (snug then 1/4 turn by hand). The engine and filter expand differently with heat. Your gasket probably is crushed. Also put fresh oil on it when you change them so the gasket can slip against the housing and not bind up.

·
8,736 Posts
With a little fresh oil on the gasket, just screw the new filter down till it seats and then about another 1/4 turn. If you get it real tight when new you'll have a hard time getting it off after its been on there a while.

·
Registered
7,464 Posts
With a little fresh oil on the gasket, just screw the new filter down till it seats and then about another 1/4 turn. If you get it real tight when new you'll have a hard time getting it off after its been on there a while.
:stupid: Agree 100%!! Before installing new filter, take a finger and dip it into the new oil bottle.... then lightly coat the new filters gasket with the oil from your finger. Install oil filter by hand till "snug", now using your filter wrench tighten no more than 1/4 of a turn!!