Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Alright first off Im a 20 year jurenyperson technician & modified plenty of engines but turboing a quad is a first.
Does anyone have any experience in turbo's & have any suggestions, do's or donts etc would be greatly appreciated.
My main concern is the carb. I know how picky they are & this concerns me & wonder if a flat slide would be better. I have been told tuning a flat slide on a 4 stroke may not be worth he effort, any suggestions?
Im rebuilding the engine & want to break it in before modifying it. . I have seen a couple videos of turbo'd quads 2 were sportsman's but they don't show or say how they did it. I know its ambitious but I love a challenge & the reward of having a turbo scrambler would be unreal & I want to slaughter those stupid Renegades.

P.S I will be taking progress picture but its a winter project so it may be slow going.:veryhappy:

·
Registered
5,753 Posts
Best guy I know is Phil over on HCS. PatrioticInnovations is his screen name. He worked for one of the big 3 auto Mfgs for years and designed hundreds of turbo applications on everything from cars to weed whips. He's a little nuts that way. I'd check over there and see what he has to say for what size or model of turbo to use and what type of carb mods you need to do. Power jets will likely be the recommendation. I've put a couple on bikes, but they were kits already fabbed up and pretty self explanatory. Maybe search or some motorcycle turbo companies and modify one of their kits?

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
What have you done with the power jets?

·
Registered
5,753 Posts
I haven't put them in. That is what Phil recommends on most applications like this. They add more fuel as boost goes up. Just need the correct size for what you are doing. Unless you are fuel injected, then it's a whole different game.

·
Registered
2,339 Posts