Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guy's I am new to the ATV world. I have been a mechanic for over 40 years. Mainly import car repair and some motorcycle. In my later years I have been involved with old car restoration in my spare time and now have undertaked a side job for a rich buddy that involves repair of his dear lease vehicles and equipment. At this time he has 3 Polaris sprotsmans, 2 500's, and a MV7 (700). There are also 2 two seaters and 1 four seater that are new and I have not done anything to yet.
On to my question, The MV7 wasn't running due to a bad battery, I fixed that, then it began to run hot (the HOT lamp and CHECK ENGINE lamp came on). I have inspected the coolant level, cleared the radiator of debri (not that dirty), the cooling fan comes on,I have removed the thermostat and done the heated water trick (it works) and it appears that the pump is working cause I see water flowing in the filler neck. When the warning lamp is on I can remove the cap (no pressure) and stick my finger in the warm coolant it is warm not hot. The radiator tanks are uncomfortable to hold on to but not so hot that you cant leave your hand on them. The radiator core is warm (a little cooler that I expected). I have come to the conclusion that this vehicle is not getting hot and the indicator is faulty. Whats your best guess? Is this one of those quirks that come with the ageing ATV or do I have a one of a kind?

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Russ, The cooling fan opperates ok but, the Hot lamp comes on along with the Check Engine lamp and I really don't think it is overheating. I have had the oppertunity to read several other posts on overheating and it seems that other people have had issue with the engine temp. sensor that tells the Hot lamp to come on. I will test it tomorrow and will inspect some other possibilities as well. Thanks for your post.

·
Registered
497 Posts