Polaris ATV Forum banner

Plowing Gravel

• I plow gravel with no issues

Votes: 15 93.8%
  • I plow gravel and it is not good,

Votes: 1 6.3%
  • I plow gravel and it tore up my quad

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • I plow a large driveway and it is too much on the quad.

Votes: 0 0.0%
1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
479 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After reading a different thread I am questioning if I should put a plow on my 500. I have been plowing my driveway for 15 years with a Bronco. It is only 200 feet long and 2 cars wide. I am trying to free up some space and sell the Bronco. I read on one thread where a rider tore his plow mounts off.
A buddy of mine has been plowing his cement drive to 10 years with no issues but mine is all Gravel. How many of you plow cement and would you recommend your plow (brand).

·
Registered
1,065 Posts
My Driveway is 3 km long and 100% Gravel (Canada get Snow).:)
I have a Pipe under the Cutting Edge and no Problem at all.

·
Registered
286 Posts
That was a specific brand of plow and seems to be an isolated incident. I use the Glacier, and the way the skids of the glacier are installed, the skids would give way before the mounts. I broke one skid before, but I always keep an extra on hand. I prefer to plow with an atv vs vehicle. Less damage to the drive way. Only down side is if you get really deep snow. I try not to plow more than six inches at a time.

·
Registered
87 Posts
I do about 300 ft of gravel no problem. I make sure laneway is/was pretty level in fall. Only issue I've had was with recent ice storm. Half to three quarter inch of ice on everything. Learned quick ice is hard to move:) I use a 60" Warn Provantage and I'm happy with it so far. Any of the name brand plow systems should serve you well.

·
Registered
15 Posts
I just got a sportsman 800 to plow my driveway (200-300 feet long) this fall. no problems yet. The only problem is very hard packed drifts. It tends to lose traction. Getting some tire chains to fix it.