Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 223 Posts

·
Registered
2,350 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
RickCecco's Polaris XP frame brace installation

Ok, so here's the deal. I bought a set of the frame braces that RickCecco is offering here. Well made, darn nice brace. Thanks Rick,.....I appreciate you bringing this to the market for us.
There are little to no instructions on the net for the install. These are a relatively easy bolt on deal that nearly anyone can do. Patience is key! Just to make sure you heard that,.....PATIENCE is key to getting these installed.
The machine i am putting them on is a 2012 XP550 LE, hours on this are 11.8, miles read 71. I did recently buy this with .4 on the odometer. Rumor has it that machines with more miles tend to offer an easier install.

I am no professional at this. Will have text in the next post with steps. Those steps will correspond with pictures in the link to follow in the next post.

·
Registered
2,350 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
-Step 1, remove the rear skid guard. I have the factory one, rather easy, seven Torx screws
-Step 2, remove the Richochet A-Arm guards, eight fasteners
-Step 3, pics 3, 4, 5, & 6 show how I positioned the rear brace to slip it in place
-Step 4, pic 7, remove the lower a-arm nuts and bolts,( wheels on and weight on wheels)
-Step 5, pic 8, reposition rear brace plate in frame
-Step 6, pic 9 shows the plate with the left side bolt in place and the amount of "adjustment" that is needed.
-Step 7, pics 10, 10.5 & 10.75, show how I positioned, and held the plate in place. I used a pair of 9" needle nose vice grips from the lower right hole to the edge of the a-arm mount. this pulled the brace oVer about half the distance I needed. I then used a pointed bar, positioned in the upper hole, to move the brace another 1/8". I then clamped the brace to the mount with a set of 6" vice grips. Bolt was then inserted.
-Step 8, pic 11 shows the forward brace being installed