Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
434 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
If you go over the full history of Polaris what would you say has been there best ATV model ever produced? Based on quality, comfort, diverse usage, fun.

I don't have any past Polaris knowledge, so just curious.

If I was to answer for Honda, I would say the 400ex probably. It was super reliable, simple design, capable in lots of terrains, and could be ridden by a wide range of skill levels and ages safely.

For Yamaha I would say the Raptor 700. Its sales should speak volumes. Might be a bit too much power for the novice though. Again reliable, multi terrain capable and super fun.

Polaris seems to have been much more utilitarian dedicated. Not a bad thing just different. I'm loving my 850 Touring. I have ridden it in an aggressive sporty way and not been disappointed. It has also done very well in technical stuff. Anyone but the complete novice could ride it safely. Very comfortable! The reliability is yet to be determined.

So, those who know Polaris... what's the best all around ever?

·
Registered
2,885 Posts
The Sportsman 500 HO. Best selling model for MANY years. Others have come and gone but the 500 stood the test of time.

·
Registered
1,538 Posts
The Sportsman 500 HO. Best selling model for MANY years. Others have come and gone but the 500 stood the test of time.

I second this. If I only had one option to purchase an atv for the rest of my life I would buy a 2013 500ho.

·
Registered
2,885 Posts
I don't know if the numbers still stand. But Polaris used to advertise that the 500 series was the best selling ATV of any manufacturer. Another model might have overtaken it by now....but that would surprise me.

·
Registered
130 Posts