Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Picking up my new 570 later today so I haven't read the manual as yet. I'm new to ATV's so don't have any previous experience to draw on for breaking in an ATV.

However, I've read a lot of threads about ensuring a "proper" break-in so I want to make sure I do just that. I try to take good care of my gear and don't want to invite trouble unnecessarily.

Any suggestions or tips would be greatly appreciated.

I'll upload pics once I have them. They didn't have the extenders or bumpers in stock so I have to wait a wee while for those to come in.

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
526 Posts
Looking forward to the pictures. On Break-In do follow manual. Due to normal manufacturing process of metal the parts do make some metal shavings moving past each other hence a good reason not to rod it the first 10 hours and to do the first oil/filter change soon.

Some rod hard from the get go and are fine. Early damage may not be noticed for a few years so if you are a trader you can let someone else worry about the longer term repairs.

Sounds like Santa is being good to you this year. :)

·
Registered
2,104 Posts
I usually just take it easy for the first 10 hours or so. After that i push it a little harder to about the 20 hour mark then it should be broke in. At the 20-25 hour mark I do the first oil change. For the forst 10 hours I never go over half throttle and don't let it idle for long periods of time. From about 10 hours to the 20-25 hour mark I go to about 3/4 throttle and not full throttle. It is a slow break in process but it has always worked for me.
I do know some who just hammer it from the word go. I like to let my parts get broken in slow. Not saying one is better than the other that is just the way I do it.

Ronnie

·
Registered
6,824 Posts