Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have removed the transmission and now I can not get the transmission back in I need help? PLEASE :werd:

·
Premium Member
20,001 Posts
Welcome to the board!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Please Doesn't any one know how to install the transmission on a 1996 Polaris Xplore? I'm new on the forum and don't know how to use it yet But I st5ill would like to get some response on the question.
THANK YOU In advance

·
Registered
12 Posts
I just looked it up on YouTube yesterday for a 1998 xplorer. My wheeler will only go in to high,reverse doesn't even feel like it's there and low will just grind. So I assume it's the translation on mine. Are you having the same issues? I'm new to polaris just got mine two days ago.

·
Registered
100 Posts
I just looked it up on YouTube yesterday for a 1998 xplorer. My wheeler will only go in to high,reverse doesn't even feel like it's there and low will just grind. So I assume it's the translation on mine. Are you having the same issues? I'm new to polaris just got mine two days ago.
You may need to adjust the shift linkage for low gear. If your idle is too high it will grind also. I would imagine that the problem could possibly be the low gear engagement dog is worn. Check the play in the top of the case where the shift shafts exit. If there is play in the shafts this will also make the trans not shift. I realize that this is only my 2nd post here but I just rebuilt my 95 xplorer 400 trans and engine and these suggestions were given to me by a polaris mechanic. If you discover worn parts in your trans I have several xtra parts that may work for you.

·
Registered
12 Posts