Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, I'm new here, and I just got a 2003 Sportsman 700.

I've done some searching the forum and the web to no avail. I just got it running again, but the shifter won't move at all.

I've taken the cover off behind the shift linkage and checked the gears behind. The lockout (from brake) was rusted in the disengaged position, so I worked it free and put anti-sieze lubricant over it all before reassembling. I'd like to not have to go through the entire transmission removal procedure if I can avoid it.

Not sure if anyone else has had a similar issue, and if so, perhaps, there is a way to get the shifter to move out of Neutral that I'm missing. I'm a motorcycle mechanic, so I'm pretty savvy with this stuff usually, but I just have no knowledge of this machine.

Thank you for any and all advice.

·
Registered
424 Posts
Does the shaft going into the transmission rotate at all, with the machine not started and the cover off you should be able to move the gears with the bell crank and by hand. Is there any thing jammed up in the gears or is there teeth missing? You don't really need the lock out pin assembly it just prevents going into high or reverse while moving, it wouldn't cause hard shift unless ceased in lock position.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I don't want to crank on it too hard, but no. The shaft going into the Trans isn't moving with everything open and using channel locks.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk

·
Registered
7,464 Posts