Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Should've just bought a new one...08 500 rebuild

Well this is my first build thread and im hoping that starting one will keep me motivated to get this done in a reasonable amount of time lol. A little back story, my best friend bought this 2008 sportsman 500 efi brand new, around 2010 he let our neighbor borrow for a weekend and his son ran into a light pole going pretty fast. well my buddy just parked it in a field. It sat there until I bought it from him in 2013 for $200. I wish I would've taken more pictures from the start but I didn't think id be this far into it. the wheeler got hit hard on the left front side pushing the wheel back into the footwell. I thought I could use a backhoe and a tree to straighten the frame but I just wasn't satisfied with the results.
before
after
so I bought a new frame, an a arm and shock, front plastics, front brake bracket, oil tank, front metal bumper, starter and recoil cover which someone stole, and swapped everything over last fall which gets it to this point

next paycheck is going to be used to get a new radiator and hopefully the front cargo rack and bumper. But until then im going to plastidip the plastics, updates on that later

·
Registered
114 Posts
Plasti dip is terrible on the plastics. I tried it and hated it. Impossible to clean. I recommend painting the plastics instead. Mine are painted now and it looks like a newer unit it turned out so good.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thats good to know about being hard to clean...im gonna give it a shot anyway just because ive already started spraying lol. What kind of paint did you use, a plastic fusion kind?

·
Registered
134 Posts
Wow very impressive so far. I know that kind of project is out of my ablity so its impressive to see someone take on a project like that and make it work. Keep going its looking great.

·
Registered
114 Posts