Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey y'all. I have a 2010 850xp and I was wondering if I shoul get some chains for plowing this year. I have no experience plowing with an atv and I don't want to be spinning all over the place because I didn't get them. I have a 60" warn plow an I still have the stock tires. Are there different types of chains? What brand should I look at? Thanks for any help.

·
Premium Member
2,492 Posts
Hey y'all. I have a 2010 850xp and I was wondering if I shoul get some chains for plowing this year. I have no experience plowing with an atv and I don't want to be spinning all over the place because I didn't get them. I have a 60" warn plow an I still have the stock tires. Are there different types of chains? What brand should I look at? Thanks for any help.
Here's my take on chains (I use them on all four). They can be both good and bad. Good - no spinning and slipping, just push where ever you want to go. Bad, lots of traction and the chance you will break something if you are forceful. I like the no slipping, but I am also pretty cautious and don't go ramming and banging around. JMO

·
Registered
555 Posts
There are a lot of ATV accessory sits that sell tire chains... like Rocky Mountain ATV. However the best chains I've found are right here...

ATV Tire Chains for ATVs

The two link spacing are superior to the 4 link, and the quad will ride better with them.

I've never seen any listed for 14" ATV rims, but that doesn't matter. The tire size does (diameter & circumference). Your tires are 26", so you'll need chains for that size. However, even then you may need to cut/adjust the links regardless. Also, use the chain tensioners (or bungy cords).

Keep in mind that chains will tear up a paved driveway pretty bad.

·
Registered
877 Posts
IMO u are better off just getting some better tires for a few extra bucks