Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm wondering how to add weight to the back wheels of the quad safely. I don't want to just stack weight on the back rack, I guess only as a last resort.

How about weight on the plow blade itself, has anyone tried this? Is if bad for the front end?

I have the Glacier III plow set up

Thanks

·
Registered
222 Posts
I am new at this myself, but on my 2011 Sportsman 400 HO, I put 2 of those sand logs that peeps put in their truck beds for weight on my back rack. I just bungeed it down crisscross with 2 straps. So far they stay put and helps when backing up. I did have a 50 lb bag of ice melt on the front until a low hanging tree branch poked a hole in it. 50 lbs seemed about right there. My Glacier III does ok in up to 7 inches of snow so far. Getting 4 to 6 inches overnight tonight. If I get a big cold icey type pile of snow, the blade might ride up a tad. Otherwise, I wouldn't put any wieght on it. Some put down pressure devices on them to hold them down.

·
Registered
68 Posts
Don't add any wieght to the plow. The G3 is going to break anyway. adding weight will just cause a failure much sooner. I got mine the week of Christmas. And got a new one on Thursday, installed Friday, broken without using it by Saturday. Read the thread under the Sportsman's forum on here and look for Glacier Plow Issues.

You can get springs or spacers. That will raise the front thus shifting some weight to the back. A sand bag or two seems to be the best idea. If your getting stuck all the time. And don't want to use the override switch. Get the mod the will keep it in 4 wheel drive all the time reguardless of direction of travel.

Good luck hope you have better luck with your G3 than I did.

·
Registered
94 Posts
I've been plowing all winter with my 450 and Glacier (not sure which model). I have a 200 foot driveway and haven't used any weights. It works great.

·
Registered
68 Posts