Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
772 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
does anyone make a roller fair lead that had solid rollers? Mine quit spinning so I took it apart and the rollers are larger than the bolts with plastic bushings on the ends. First few times of lifting my plow crushed these bushings and made it so it wont roll. POS.

I want a roller that has a hole just slightly bigger than the bolt. Am I gunna have to build one?

·
Registered
2,885 Posts
You must have a very heavy plow. I've been using mine for 11 years now and haven't crushed a bushing yet.

·
Registered
772 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Warn 60" county plow. Not that heavy. I just think the plastic bushing sucks.

·
Registered
806 Posts
If the plastic bushings are all that failed, have some bronze bushings machined & pressed into your rollers.

·
Registered
450 Posts
Without bushings of some sort between the bolts and the rollers, over time your bolt and roller will scar each other up, producing metal shavings everywhere inside there.

Have you considered a solid fairlead like this one? (Amazon link)

·
Registered
2,352 Posts
You never did say if you were using rope or cable.
You really need rollers with cable , i would think that may have gotten just a defective or poor quality set of rollers. I've had mine (warn) for 10 years and they still turn. Try swapping the top to bottom and see if that helps, 'til you get a better fairlead.

·
Registered
772 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
It's a wire. Yes, I flipped it around for now

Sent from my Triumph using Tapatalk 2

·
Registered
1,519 Posts