Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm having problems with my 450, I am new to ATVing and not much of a gear head, but pretty mechanical capable and willing to try and tackle anything. The problem I am having is lack of power transfer, I think. I've searched the threads and thought my problem was a worn belt, changed belt still have same problem. Engine seems to have full power and does fine on flat, but as soon as you start to climb, engine still sounds great, but no power to pull hill. There is a rattling noise coming from the drive clutch area, clutch rebuild, maybe? Any suggestions would be welcome and appreciated.

Thanks.

·
10,585 Posts
When you changed the belt did you check the sheaves for wear? They should be smooth with a straight angle top to bottom. Sounds like you may have a groove worn toward the bottom so that you're losing grip on the belt. It's also a good idea to sand or use a scotchbrite pad on the sheaves working straight up and down from top to bottom and going all the way around both clutches when you change the belt to take the glaze off. Then clean everything good. The rattle is from the spider buttons worn out and gone.

·
Registered
4 Posts
I have a 06 450 sportsman. Last year mine did the same thing would pull it self up any kind of hills, or could only get 20 mph. Let it cool done then it would go about 35 for 5 to 10 min. Then slow down again. It acted like the rev limiter was kicking in.