Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,
I'm new to Polaris four wheelers. I've ridden allot, but I'm looking at buying a new Sportsman 850 for farm work and for play. But I was orginally going to buy a new sled... However, I want something that I can use year round. I'm looking at buying tracks for it, was just wondering how the front end/EPS holds up to the added weight from the tracks? Should I go with no EPS if I"m going tracks?

Thanks,
Buck

·
Premium Member
20,001 Posts
Welcome to the board!:med: I don't think I would.

·
Premium Member
2,490 Posts
Hey all,
I'm new to Polaris four wheelers. I've ridden allot, but I'm looking at buying a new Sportsman 850 for farm work and for play. But I was orginally going to buy a new sled... However, I want something that I can use year round. I'm looking at buying tracks for it, was just wondering how the front end/EPS holds up to the added weight from the tracks? Should I go with no EPS if I"m going tracks?

Thanks,
Buck
Polaris sells tracks - I suppose they will warranty the ATV. I have a 550 with tracks - run them only in the winter for the last three years. No issues. I have an aftermarket EPS kit on mine. IMO - you can do damage to a non eps machine with tracks if you handle it improperly.
It's just like any other non-power steering machine or vehicle. Turns hard when you are not moving. If you are moving, it's not an issue.
Got to "pay to play" as the saying goes. :veryhappy:

·
Registered
993 Posts