Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This past weekend I got my 550 stuck in some deep mud. I ride solo and this is my first time being stuck and I don't have a winch yet. I do carry a come-a-long in my cargo bag which eventually got me out. Does someone know of an anchor that can be utilized if trees are not in range of my come-a-long. My come-a-long is only about 15ft long. The trees that were close enough to me were in the wrong direction. Luckily I also carry a small handsaw and was able to wedge a dead tree in between some other trees that were out of reach. I checked out something called a pull pal but for that cost I can buy a winch. There has to be something out there that I can buy for reasonable money or a home made remedy. I am eventually going to buy a winch as soon as I pay off my quad which is roughly one more year until then I will continue to carry my come-a-long. Let me know if anyone has something in mind.

·
Registered
93 Posts
About the cheapest portable anchor I know of is a picket anchor system. You can make it out of some rebar if you really want to do it on the cheap. Just do a google search for picket anchor system and you will find all kinds of info on them.

An alternative would be to buy the longest tow strap you can find at harbor freight and use that to extend the reach of your come along.

·
Registered
619 Posts
Google 'winch anchor' and several will come up, similar to pull pal. Most seem to be about $150. I found this one on Amazon for $130.
Amazon.com: Off Road Recovery Ground Anchor: Discount Ramps: Automotive

But if you're going to buy one of those for $100+ you might as well just buy a Badlands Winch for the same cost. 3500 lb. Electric ATV/UTV Winch with Automatic Load-Holding Brake