Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2016 Sportsman 450 HO EFI
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good morning all.

I was recently "gifted" a 2016 Spoprtsman 450 HO EFI from a friend that drove it into his dam. It sat submerged for 24 hrs or so.
This is my first ATV but I have some mechanical knowledge and I'm an expert "disassembler" so I'm trying to fix it up for myself. The rear wheel bearings and at least one driveshaft are shot but they are easy to fix.
He said he spent $700 at the dealer after recovery to get it back up and running. Got it home and drove it around for 1 1/2 hours and seemed to be ok but the next day, it wouldn't start. I'm really not sure if this meant that it wouldn't crank or just wouldn't fire or just had a flat battery. He said the dealer told him it might be the 'starter motor'. I hate dealers......the thing cranks over no worries but this friend of mine wouldn't know spare tyre from a steering wheel. All the dealer wanted to do was sell him a new unit.
Anyway, I got it to my place. It was flat so I put some jumper leads from a battery I have and it fired straight away for a few seconds and seemed to stop when I applied a bit of throttle. It stalled like a carby engine would if it was cold and needed choke. Since then I cannot get it to even look like starting. It turns over like a champ but will not fire.
So far I have done the following.

1. Fully charged the battery. Battery is fine.
2. Checked the fuse box. It's perfectly dry.
3. Checked the ECU connection. It was a tiny bit damp with a tiny bit of green corrosion, I mean tiny, which I cleaned up and dried out. It really looks ok to me. As a side issue....how absolutely disgusting is it that the dealer gets a bike up and running after being submerged for 24 hrs and doesn't even disconnect/check the ECU plug. It was still damp!
4. Pulled apart the airbox. It has a pod filter which looks fine but I had this all apart whilst attempting to start anyway.