Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2002 Polaris sportsman 400 and I was wanting to get new wheels and tires how big can I go without having to modify my quad?

Right now I have stock
25 x 8 x 12 front
25 x 11 x 10 rear

·
Premium Member
20,001 Posts
Welcome to the board!:cowboy:

·
Registered
4,081 Posts
Welcome!!

I have no personal experience with this model. But I have read a number of times that these machines are not so great on power. So to my mind your bigger concern should be available power more then size to fit. BUT, I would say you could likely fit most manufacturers 27" tires. But a clutch kit would be mandatory!

I had a similar issue when I put tires on my wife's trail boss. With 13 HP I didn't want to sap any of that awesome power, (insert sarcasm) so as much as I would have liked more ground clearance I stayed with the stock size and just went more aggressive with the tread.

Personally I would say stay stock or go 26 if you must have bigger.

CW

·
Registered
1,664 Posts
Welcome!

Without doing any mods you should be fine with 26" tires depending on the weight of the tire.

What tire did you have in mind?

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Wheels and tires

I was hoping to get new 12 inch rims and at the very least go to a 26 or a 27 inch tire, mud lites probably. Just don't know what width I can go with.

Also had a line on some razor stocks that are maxxis big horns
27x9x12
27-12-12

Wondering if they would work?

·
Registered
1,664 Posts
I was hoping to get new 12 inch rims and at the very least go to a 26 or a 27 inch tire, mud lites probably. Just don't know what width I can go with.

Also had a line on some razor stocks that are maxxis big horns
27x9x12
27-12-12

Wondering if they would work?
First, you have two different lug patterns on this bike(4x156 front, 4x4 rear). This means you will have to find a set of wheels that match with those lug patterns.