Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, noob here.

While searching some new Polaris models, I was trying to figure out why the touring was always so much more expensive. It couldn't just be for a seat. The touring showed (online anyways) the wheelbase was 5.5 inches longer, and overall length 3 inches longer if I remember correctly. Is there any benefit or drawbacks to this?

I'm looking towards a machine for plowing, help around the house, and fun of course. But I really don't need the second seat...

What's your thoughts?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk

·
Registered
48 Posts
I've never ridden a touring model, so I'm just speaking from general knowledge, not actual experience. All thing being equal, the longer wheelbase may yield a smother ride and be a more predictable riding experience for you. The extra length might make it tougher a navigate tight paths, or it might take a bit more effort to get it maneuvered around while plowing too. However, the extra wheelbase could be beneficial to you while handling the plow too.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
295 Posts
I love my touring model, my husband has the one up Sportsman 800. I feel 100% more comfortable on the 2 up, it is considerably more stable, your safe to take a passenger which is very important unless you live alone and your friends and family are rarely around. The load is greater climbing and getting over odd shaped terrain is easier simply because the machine can bridge over stuff easier. The uses for the 2 up in my opinion out way the uses over the one up. This is why I spent a few extra dollars, i would have hated any regrets. I take the seat off and I can easily pack the largest trunk in the house, where my husband had to buy a much smaller one. I still have room to spare for gas and water jugs.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

·
Super Moderator
6,952 Posts