Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:damnit::crybaby::soapbox::wtf1::AR15firing:Machine: 1987 Polaris TrailBoss 250 4x4

Well was out for a spin, just playing around and I came to a dead stop. Looked down and my chain had come off and wedged itself in between the sprocket and axel at the back......got the chain back on, thought I was all jim dandy and started her up put it in gear......................nothing............no reverse, no low, no high.....nothing.

I looked at my tranny whille the engine was running, I know I did not snap my input shaft as the clutch brake was spinning..................Did I snap my output shaft?:motz:

Son of a beotch if I did, Polaris no longer sells em going by the online parts look up. If it is, looks like I will be welding it up ahahahaha, good thing I am a welder :cowboy:

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
:hail:come on...pleaseeeeeeee.....do I have dick written on my forhead, no one wants to answer any of my questions in my threads.............shite. There has to be some mechanically inclined atv riders on here that know what I am talking about.........

·
Registered
1,565 Posts
No offence, but you lost me. Clutchbrake????? WTH is that? Sounds like you busted your belt to me.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Really? Secondary clutch is spinning............the brake on the same shaft is spinning(clutch brake)
Plus if the rear chain brakes, you will not be able to stop the rear tires...only the seconday clutch.

so I know the input shaft into the gearbox is ok. What is a common scenario here? According to the schematic this is a gear driven box thus no chain. So whould I be correct in thinking it is my "output" shaft that has snapped?

Or is there a chain, I Can't seem to see one in the diagram. This pic is specifically for the 87 off of the Polaris site.

·
Registered
1,420 Posts