Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I'm a newbie to the forum so please forgive my general lack of knowledge about the polaris machines. I've searched here and online in general and can't find anything on my year of machine...a few posts for newer ones but the info I have seen there doesn't seem to jive with what i've got. I have an 88 trail boss 4x4 250. trying to pull the motor and the next step is to get the variable transmission drive pulley off the crankshaft. manual says I need a special polaris puller but I can't seem to find one anywhere that costs less than my first born. My guess is though that if I get a bolt of the right size I can thread it in and it will push against the end of the crankshaft and effectively push the pulley off. From what I can gather thats what the special tool does. anyway...has anyone made a puller for this year machine? If so...which threadpitch and size did you use? Using a pitch gauge I'm thinking its a 9/16 x 18 but can't seem to find a bolt to try. Looking for some sort of assurance that i'm on the right track before I go nuts trying to find either the tool or the bolt. also since I can't actually see the end of the crankshaft..am I going to wreck anything doing it this way. Any information that anyone has on this older machine is much appreciated. Thanks!

- Dahlbug

·
Premium Member
20,001 Posts
Welcome to the board!:biglaugh:

·
Registered
164 Posts
5/8 allthread rod, mine is about 8 inches in length, and two nuts One nut is a jam nut against the other. Screw in pulley comes off.

TBS

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 · (Edited)
I tried a 9/16 x 18 last night and that is too big so 5/8 isn't it either...on mine anyway. could it be that there is something incorrect on my machine?