Polaris ATV Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. I'm shopping for the sport-utility ATV I've been dreaming about since I started riding three wheelers as a kid. Massive power, great handling, sporty suspension with enough travel, and the ability to carry all of my stuff when I'm hunting. I've been doing my research, and a number of factors led me to the 2014 Sportsman XP LE (White). Earlier models did well in comparison tests, and this new one with the Scrambler suspension geometry and Fox suspension has to be the best thing out there, or so I thought. Then I started lurking in the forums to find out what owners thought about them, what very minor issues might need to be addressed, and what kind of power I might be able to expect from basic modifications. After lurking for several days, I'm now afraid to buy. Broken A arms. Broken frames. Cracked welds. I've been beating the piss out of a 2002 Rancher 350 since I got it in 2004. It's been stuck in the mud a few times, ridden HARD on rough rocky desert terrain, jumped, overloaded with deer corn and two riders, left under a tarp outside year-round, and it's never, ever been in the shop. The only issue has been Honda's "sealed" drum brakes, a known problem. That's it. But in reading these forums, it seems like the frames on these XP's are made of balsa wood and the welds should be labeled "Elmer's Glue." Heavy duty A-arm kits? Are you serious? I want to spend my money on fancy wheels and tires and performance parts, not replacing stock parts that should be bullet proof. Maybe I'm getting the wrong idea. Somebody help me out here.

·
Registered
1,420 Posts