Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am fairly new to riding but I am so OCD with Anxiety disorder that I swear that I am prepared for most anything. My family laughs at me for all that just has to go on rides with us,,, but they werent laughing a few weeks ago. My daughter (age 24) was riding my Honda 500 and flipped it over on her, breaking her leg. We were 13 miles past the middle of no where! I was resting up at the truck when this happened, my son (age 29) said he remembered that I had my homemade first aid kit in the pack. So he went digging in it, came up with the ace bandage and remembered that when I put this kit together he laughed at me, telling me that I had everything in there to make a splint except for a stick,,, I told him we are always in the woods where there is plenty of sticks! LOL!! Guess what,,, he found 2 sticks and wrapped her broken leg. The hospital said who ever thought to do that did the right thing, that normally when they see a wreck on a 4 wheeler that no one has done first aid.
Here is what all I just have to have with us every time we go:

My homemade First Aid Kit (a plastic tall rectangle container with snap lock lid)
Very pointed twizzers - for splinters
Nail clippers
Travel bottle of Rubbing Alcohol
Travel bottle of Peroxide
Gloves
Gauze
Ace bandage - Reminds me that I need to replace mine
Water proof bandaids - assorted sizes
Poison Ivy wash
Germ clean wet wipes
Hand sanitizer
TAO - very small tube
Paper towels - just a few sheets so to dry the wound

Toilet paper
Camera
Electrical Air pump
Fix-a-flat
Tool bag
Flash light
Hand Towels - for cleaning off mud - LOL
Bug Spray
Sunscreen
Tow strap
Snacks
Water Water Water

So, what do you take?

·
Registered
114 Posts