Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been working on a 420 Forman Honda for 10 hr on rear and front brakes and wheel bearing. The question is in 2013 why does Honda still use drum brakes? Polaris is so far ahead it's not funny!!!

·
Registered
4,081 Posts
Don't discount drum brakes! They have been around a long time and STILL WORK WELL!!! They are also CHEAPER to produce keeping costs down.

Discs may offer better stopping in a car, but Ill bet that drum is just as good if not better than the discs on our atvs.

CW

·
Registered
7,464 Posts
I'd have to agree with CW.... and also add that a drum break is somewhat semi-sealed. Not allowing, as much at least, of the dirt, mud and muck to get packed and worked into the pads, cylinder and drums like a disc/caliper systems. Which seems to wear the disc systems out faster.

·
Registered
2,054 Posts
If drum brakes were so great wouldn't the be used a lot more? I'm not an auto mechanic but I think the stopping power of disc is much higher then drums, as there is more surface area. I think CW s comment on cost is the only reason for using them

Sent from my MB886 using Tapatalk 2

·
Registered
38 Posts
Don't fix what's not broken....

I also agree with cw, I mean when I had my Honda, that was low maintenance lol and spent more time riding. Now I have a more up keep I guess, don't get me wrong I like my sportsman but I feel that prevented maintenance is key but sometimes replacing front brake every year gets to you!! I just put pads on in the spring for the season- so I thought:hmmm: but after 270km bare metal!! I guess you get what you pay for so now I have order ebc's and I hope they last lol:veryhappy:

·
Registered
2,054 Posts
Over 1000 miles on my 800 on original pads. Just checked them as I have heard they do wear fast...look fine

·
Registered
619 Posts