Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
182 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just purchased my first 4 wheeler 500HO. I have ridden them on and off all my life. I have had it about a month now and have been looking a many videos and have decided I need a winch. I admit I now nothing about them although I am a great shade tree mechanic. I'm looking for advice on what kind to purchase, what all I need etc. If I decide to approx how much it will cost me? Thank for you input-advice all are welcome....Ricky

·
Registered
679 Posts
I have a venom winch. It was relatively cheap, $150 I believe. Hasn't let me down but I don;t ride in mud and not a lot of water crossings. Some guys swear by Warn but they are up there in price. Runva has a good following also. I think my next winch might be a Badlands from Harbor Freight(search on this forum for reviews). With coupon you can pick on up for ~$50. However, if I rode by myself I would buy a more well known expensive brand just for peace of mind.

·
Registered
182 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Found a 3000lb Venom on Ebay for $136 free shipping. Do I need 3000lbs or could I go with a 2000lb seeing my ATV only weighs around 900lbs with me on it. It says it comes with a waterproof kit what is that and are the winches specific to your ride or universal? Do I need anything extra to hook it up? I'm just getting started on my quest and any help would probably save me time and probably wasted money...

·
Registered
2,054 Posts
I use a 2000lb on my 800 and it has not failed me in 2 feet of wet snow, peat bog or thick black mud yet

Sent from my MB886 using Tapatalk 2

·
Registered
173 Posts
Rule of thumb for winch size is 3 times your vehicle weight. I think the more important part is what is the winch i.e. plastic gears vs. metal, waterproofing, etc. You can always increase your winch pulling power by carrying and using pulleys, snatch blocks, etc. when you are really stuck.