Polaris ATV Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just purchased a 2007 Sportsman 500 and when I first turn the key on a wrench is flashing. I am guessing this is a notification that it needs its routine service done. Does anyone know a way to turn this off. I am going to be servicing this beast on my own and i do not want a this to be bothering me every time I turn my key on. I am new to Polaris' so this may be a widely known simple fix, any help?

·
Registered
6,903 Posts
yes, all it is is a dummy service reminder that flashes when the revers hour meter gets to 0 hours

resetting....it is something like this. im doing this off memory so bear with me.

1) turn the key to the on position (motor not running)
2) put machine into neutral
3) turn key off and wait a min of 10 seconds
4) press and hold the yellow override button
5) turn key to on position (motor not running)

at this point it should go straight into diagnostic mode...
you can let go of the yellow override button at this point, use it to scroll through the menus. each press will advance it to the next menu. keep pressing the yellow override button until the wrench comes back up. when it does, press the override button again but hold it in. it should go from a 0 to OFF. if you want to leave the wrench off for good, you can then turn the key off and you will be good to go. if you do want to reset it, press and hold the override button and it will begin to count up, it will go all they way to 100 hours

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Awesome!!
I will try this tomorrow since my bike is at my shop. I will let you know how it goes.
Is there anything I should know or are there any quarks these machines have that you know of? It seems to run great but who knows I havent really had it out to test it much.
Thanks again!!

·
Registered
6,903 Posts
common stuff/common complaints....